I need a WAMITAB qualification to operate a waste facility in England and Wales...












Risk Tier Table

Operator Competence Scheme

Continuing Competence

What is the Risk Tiers Table?

The Risk Tiers Table determines the environmental risk for the operation of a particular type of facility by using the following colour codes:

     - Yellow for ‘high risk’ facilities
     - Green for ‘medium risk’ facilities
     - Blue for ‘low risk’ facilities

How do I use the Risk Tiers Table?

Using the Risk Tiers Table you will be able to determine the qualification (or group of units) needed to meet the technically competent manager requirement for your site or sites (and join the CIWM/WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme). All you have to do is look up the level of risk and description of the facility you work at, before looking across to see which units you require.

The table also shows the Standard Rules Permit identifiers (e.g. SR2008No14) which are the Environmental Agency references linking the different types of site to individual permit requirements. You can also use these to identify which units you require (you can check the SR Permit Identifiers for facilities in the menu opposite).