Upcoming changes to Continuing Competence Scheme

CIWM/WAMITAB are pleased to announce some changes to the Continuing Competence Scheme which will take effect from 1st June 2016:

  • New syllabus
  • New question bank
  • New price of £130
  • New fields to complete in the test booking process. You will now be asked:
    • To list your form of primary competence (e.g. WAMITAB 4/6/12 Unit certificate, COTC, EPOC certificate, deemed competent or agency assessed).
    • To enter your permit numbers (if applicable).

Continuing Competence: Changes to selection screen and score report

CIWM and WAMITAB are pleased to announce some important changes to the Continuing Competence Scheme, which will take effect from September 2015.

As part of the continued development of the scheme, the selection screen has been amended so that the activity specific tests appear in alphabetical order.

The score report candidates receive after taking their test has also been revised to provide information about the revision guides and guidance on how the results are calculated. Click here to see an example.

The Waste Management Licensing (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015

The Waste Management Licensing (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2015 came into force on 17 August 2015. These Regulations contain a number of changes designed to enable the Northern Ireland Environment Agency opportunities to specify Technical Competence requirements for wastes sites similar to those operating in England and Wales.

To achieve this, ‘Table 1’ of the Regulations has been amended to incorporate the types of activity undertaken on waste facilities and the WAMITAB Level 4 Operator Competence Certificate code to show which qualification (usually 12 units) or unit cluster (4 or 6 units depending on the activity) is required to demonstrate technical competence.

The Vocationally Related Qualification - Level 4 Certificate in Waste and Resource Management - is also included within ‘Table 1’ for Technically Competent Manager provision in a similar way to that for England and Wales.

Key points to note of the Northern Ireland 2015 Regulations are as follows:

(2) A person holding an existing Certificate of Technical Competence shall be required to acquire a relevant up-to-date qualification as detailed in Schedule 1 within 24 months of the date of operation of these Regulations.

(3) A person who has acquired technical competence must undertake an assessment every 24 months to ensure that that competence is kept up to date.

Schedule 1 - Regulation 3

2. Anyone carrying out an activity listed in the Table [‘Table 1’] must obtain a relevant [WAMITAB] Operator Competence Certificate except where that activity is being carried out by way (virtue) of an exemption from waste management licensing. In the event of a person carrying out activities without the appropriate level of qualification, that person will not be deemed to be a fit and proper person, which may result in that person’s application being refused or their Licence being revoked.

3. Where appropriate, the Department will recognise the [WAMITAB] Vocationally Related

Qualification (VRQ) “Level 4 Certificate in Waste and Resource Management” as demonstrating operator competence where that certificate has been obtained as part of the WAMITAB Operator Competence Scheme.”

Please note that this change only affects the Technical Competence provision in Northern Ireland.

To find out more: http://www.legislation.gov.uk/nisr/2015/301/regulation/1/made

Upcoming changes to Continuing Competence Scheme

CIWM and WAMITAB are pleased to announce some important changes to the Continuing Competence Scheme, which will take effect from 1 January 2015.

As part of the continued development and growth of the scheme, the CIWM/WAMITAB Continuing Competence test fee will go up to £120 from 1 January 2015. As a result, individuals will have access to revision summary for the following topics:

  • Generic Health and Safety
  • Generic Environmental Protection
  • Generic Legislation
  • Landfill non-hazardous
  • Landfill inert
  • End of Life Vehicles
  • Metal Recycling Sites

Individuals that are not successful will also receive more information after taking the test. This information will identify the key areas individuals will need to do further reading.

CIWM and WAMITAB announce changes to Continuing Competence Scheme

CIWM and WAMITAB are pleased to announce some important changes to the Continuing Competence Scheme, which will take effect from 1 March 2014.

Under the new guidelines, certificates issued after that date will be ‘date stamped’ with an expiry date effective from the second anniversary of achievement. The replacement of the current fixed two-year period with the new rolling programme will make the scheme much more flexible and accessible, allowing individuals and organisations to monitor the currency of their technical competency and easily track when their next test is due.

From November 2013 those obtaining their certificates will see a change in the way the renewal timescale is specified. The new style certificates will clearly show a specific date by which a new certificate must be obtained. In order that no candidate is disadvantaged during the transition period, anyone completing the test in the period up to 28 February 2014 will receive a certificate with an expiry date of 29 February 2016. 

Technical Competence for Permitted sites operating under the ‘Environmental Permitting Regulations 2007’ (as amended)

Treatment and Transfer Operator Competence (affects CA Site Management)

Operators and/or their Technically Competent Managers of ‘Treatment’ and/or ‘Transfer’ activities have often raised the question in terms of Technical Competence requirements: “Does Treatment trump Transfer?”

Up until now the answer to this question has been ‘No’ and Operators (or their Technical Competent Managers) have had to achieve competence in both Treatment and Transfer if they operate both types of facility.

However, recent discussions with the Environment Agency have identified that the skill set is very similar and agreement has been reached that: “Any award for Treatment operations will be considered to demonstrate technical competence for Transfer operations involving the same type of waste.

WAMITAB has updated the ‘Hierarchy Table’ to reflect this change. You will see that for each entry where ‘Transfer’ activities were previously specified ‘Treatment’ qualifications /units are also shown. This is also the situation for CA Sites.


Return to Main Continuing Competence Page

Frequently Asked Questions

 New Certificate Design

Sample Certificate

 (Sample only)